↑ Return to About Us

Oregon Wheat Commission

The Oregon Wheat Commission is a producer funded and governed check-off program. Our mission is to improve the profitability of Oregon Wheat Growers through Marketing, Research and Grower Education programs. The OWC is composed of five producer commissioners, one public member and two handlers from the various growing regions of the state. Our responsibility is to allocate assessment funds to specific programs designed to find solutions to immediate and long term issues faced by the wheat producers of Oregon.

The Commission was originally formed to deal with the abundance of wheat grown. With around 90% of Oregon wheat now being exported the majority of our marketing efforts are focused on overseas markets. The OWC currently cooperates with U.S. Wheat Associates and Wheat Marketing Center to provide technical assistance to customers and develop markets.

The majority of the Commission’s research funding goes to researchers at Oregon State University and USDA-ARS Western Wheat Quality Laboratory focusing on variety development, genomics, quality, fertility and weed management.

The Commission also funds, in part, the efforts of the Oregon Wheat Growers League as the industry’s grass roots representative conducting grower education and lobbying efforts. The Oregon Wheat Commission and the Oregon Wheat Growers League collaborate to serve the ever changing needs of the industry.

1200 NW Naito Parkway, Ste. 370
Portland, OR 97209
Office: 503.467.2161
Fax: 503.467.2165

Darren Padget, Chair

Blake Rowe, CEO Oregon Wheat

Tana Simpson, Associate Administrator
Diana Thompson, Administrative Assistant

Budget Overview 1-29-15_Page_1

Budget Overview

Click here for the Budget Overview.

View page »

head of wheat

Commissioner Directory

  OWC Commissioners 2015-16

View page »

Barley 2


Barley Assessment Return Form Wheat Assessment Return Form #1 Wheat Assessment Return Form #2            

View page »

4 pings

  1. Annual U.S. Wheat Crop Tour Strengthens Relationships with Japanese Executive Millers | Global Milling

    […] collaborated with the Montana Wheat and Barley Committee, Oregon Wheat Commission and Washington Grain Commission to organize and host this trade […]

  2. Japanese millers follow Northwest wheat harvest | Global Milling

    […] Idaho and Oregon wheat commissions and the Washington Grain Commission are hosting four Japanese milling executives July 5-12. The […]

  3. Korean Milling Executives Will Visit PNW for a First Look at New Wheat Crop | Global Milling

    […] Two executives representing Korean flour milling companies will chase combines in the Palouse region of Washington and the Columbia Valley of Oregon July 26 to Aug.1, 2015, to get a first look at this year’s wheat crop. Their visit, which includes a stop in Portland, OR, to learn more about the U.S. wheat supply system, is sponsored by U.S. Wheat Associates (USW), the Washington Grain Commission and the Oregon Wheat Commission. […]

  4. National Agriculture Week - Oregon Wheat - Celebrate Oregon Agriculture

    […] Oregon Wheat Commission […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>