OWC Staff and Commissioners
Hours & Directions
Facebook Twitter Instagram
Home > Commission > Commissioners & Staff

Commission Positions: Apply by March 24

The Oregon Department of Agriculture is accepting applications for Producer Position 4, Producer Position 5 and Handler Position 2 on the Oregon Wheat Commission. To qualify to serve, applicants must be a U.S. citizens, an Oregon resident, and have an active interest in the positive economic development of the wheat industry. The Producer Position 4 term is four years and the handler term is two years, beginning July 1, 2023. The Producer Position 5 term is an extension of a current position for a limited duration two year term. ODA extended the deadline to submit applications to March 24, 2023. Find details on qualification and how to submit application forms here.

The OWC is composed of five producer commissioners, one public member and two handlers from the various growing regions of the state.

Staff of the Oregon Wheat Commission

Amanda Hoey, CEO

Amanda is the Chief Executive Officer for the Oregon Wheat Commission (state commodity commission) and the Oregon Wheat Growers League (private growers association). She represents Oregon's wheat industry in local, state, national and international arenas.

Amanda has over a decade of executive leadership experience and a close connection to the Oregon Wheat industry, growing up on a dryland wheat farm in Wasco County. She previously served as the Executive Director for Mid-Columbia Economic Development District. Amanda graduated Magna Cum Laude with a Degree in Economics from Whitman College. She is an alumnus of the American Leadership Forum of Oregon and was a Marshall Memorial Fellow through the German Marshall Fund. Serving in her role as CEO she works to strengthen the wheat industry in the state. From enhancing resources for ag research to addressing policy challenges that would otherwise hinder farm profitability/viability, the work of Oregon Wheat is critical to ensuring vibrant rural communities.

Tana Simpson

Associate Administrator
Email Tana

Tana Simpson was raised on a small farm in rural Clackamas County. She graduated from Oregon State University with a Bachelor’s degree in Agricultural Business Management and a minor in Animal Sciences in early 2000.

Simpson joined the Oregon Wheat Commission in late 2000 after a brief stint at the Oregon Hazelnut Commission. She currently serves as the Associate Administrator supporting the Commissions’ financial records and bookkeeping, trade team visits, state and federal compliance and other tasks as needed.

Corey Shrader

Program and Office Coordinator

Email Corey

Corey originally hails from Western Pennsylvania. Just miles from the of the heart of the Pittsburgh steel industry and a short drive from the coal fields of West Virginia. He earned his Bachelor’s degree from the University of Pittsburgh and a Master’s degree from Urbana University in Ohio.

In 2014, Corey relocated to Oregon with his family, where he previously worked for the University of Portland and the Portland Police Bureau prior to joining the Oregon Wheat Commission in 2021. He currently serves the Oregon Wheat Commission in the Program & Office Coordinator role.
Back to
Tickets & Deals